Crosscut Sled adjusting

Discuss topics related to the Portable Workshop
Stefano61

Crosscut Sled adjusting

Post by Stefano61 » Fri Feb 07, 2020 2:53 pm

Hi Suso,
I understand you can reply in italian but I write in english for other users that might be interested in the subject.
I am building your portable workshop, great design and a lot of fun in making it! I am quite a newbie in woodworking, I am a modeler since a long time but I'm used to work on small objects and I have a limited experience in "real" woodworking.

Looking at your crosscut sled I see it does not have the back fence, the one far from you. This makes impossible to adjust the front fence for a true squareness because if you did it, the two parts the base is made of would detach and not stay parallel each other. In fact, you didn't described the method to fine adjust the front fence at 90 degrees. I understand one of the most used is the 5-cut method, which is not possible to do with only one fence. Am I correct? What do you suggest?

Thank you in advance for your help,
Stefano

Suso

Re: Crosscut Sled adjusting

Post by Suso » Fri Feb 07, 2020 3:16 pm

hello Stefano!

as you can see, this tool,fence,sled etc.. design is quite simple, but still allows for decent cuts if you adjust everything correctly the first time. In my case, since the base of the sled was well squared I had no problems, I simply screwed the fence closest to my parallel to the base and I got a squad cuts.

You have three options, adjust the sled using the t-track slider, moving it to the necessary side.

Ajust the fence closest to you little by little before gluing it.

To check if it is square in any of these two options, make a cut at the edge of a piece of about 30 x30cm and turn it with the top side down. Cut back through the same edge and you will see if it is ok, or to which side you should move the fence.

The other option is simply to place a new fence far from you, doing it the way you explain in your message.